Researchers awarded at Crufts

Three innovative researchers were presented with International Canine Health Awards at Crufts for their impact on the health and well-being of dogs worldwide.

Dr Elaine Ostrander, Dr Gustavo Aguirre and Emily Milodovski, who won the Lifetime Achievement Award, International Prize in Canine Health and Student Inspiration Award respectively, were nominated by their peers and contemporaries for their work and developments in dog health and veterinary science.

Related Articles

Dr Ostrander was chosen as the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award for her work, which has contributed to developments in canine health that helped to transform the understanding of several human diseases. She received a prize fund of £10,000 to help towards her future work.

Dr Aguirre was awarded the International Prize for Canine Health for his work in the recognition and characterisation of eye diseases in dogs, applying both clinical and genetic solutions. Working alongside Dr Ostrander, Aguirre has to date identified around 15 different retinal disease genes that cause inherited blindness in approximately 60 breeds of dogs. The Cuban, who now resides in the US, received £40,000 to finance his future projects.

Finally, Bristol University student Emily Milodowski was awarded the Student Inspiration Award for her research on the prevalence and distribution of Campylobacter in the canine intestine, which may eventually help human health. Milodowski, who ranks in the top three of 105 fellow students in every subject, has been awarded £10,000 for her next research project into wound healing in dogs.

Vernon Hill, whose foundation underwrites the awards, said: “Our congratulations go to all three winners on their amazing achievements. They are all truly deserving. ‘Dogs rule’ at Metro Bank, and we welcome them in with fresh water bowls, treats and Metro scarves 362 days a year. We are delighted to be making a difference to dogs’ lives through these awards and to support the present and future leaders in veterinary science.”

Image: Shirley Hill; Vernon Hill; Emily Milodowski; Elaine Ostrander; and Gustavo Aguirre.

Back to top button