RCVS Council candidates and new VN Council member announced

The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) has announced the candidates standing in the 2019 RCVS Council elections and confirming the two members of the Veterinary Nurses (VN) Council who were nominated this year.

There are nine candidates standing in this year’s election, including five existing council members eligible for re-election and four candidates not currently on the council. They are:

· Dr Linda Belton MRCVS

Related Articles

· Dr Niall Connell MRCVS

· Mr John C Davies MRCVS

· Dr Joanna Dyer MRCVS

· Professor Timothy Greet FRCVS

· Professor John Innes FRCVS

· Dr Thomas Lonsdale MRCVS

· Dr Katherine Richards MRCVS

· Mr Peter Robinson MRCVS

This year there will be no election for the VN Council as only two candidates – current VN Council vice chairwoman Liz Cox and newcomer Jane Davidson stood for the two available places for elected members. Both Davidson and Cox will start their three-year terms on the VN Council at Royal College Day on Friday 12 July 2019.

Rachel Marshall, chair of the VN Council, said: “First, I would welcome our new VN Council member Jane Davidson, I also wish to congratulate Liz who I am sure will continue to be a great asset to VN Council for a further three years.

“However, it is disappointing that there were not enough candidates standing for us to hold an election this year and give the profession the opportunity to exercise their democratic right and decide who they wish to elect. We will be taking stock of the situation over the next few months and considering how we can do more to promote the activities and decisions of VN Council and its members in the hope that, next year, we will see an increase in the numbers standing as candidates.”

Ballot papers and candidates’ details for the RCVS Council election are due to be posted and emailed to all veterinary surgeons eligible to vote during the week commencing 25 March, and all votes must be cast, either online or by post, by 5pm on Friday 26 April 2019.

Back to top button